Winter Break

Winter Break

It is winter break from school, I am home from visiting my mom and off of work for two days. Yesterday, I made wild rice soup and took it to my neighbor with a long overdue sympathy card. Her father in law died before Christmas, and this was the first chance I had to show any kind of neighbor care. She literally laughed. I told her that she could not laugh because it was a sympathy card. She laughed because we are both working full time, find ourselves completely behind, and spent our days off at the grocery store and in the kitchen. She was getting ready to make soup too, for another neighbor. Her soup was meant as a Christmas gift, and she was late too. Today, I plan to make ginger cookies and clean my house and many other listed things. Yesterday, I sat down for the first time and just admired my own Christmas tree with the lights on. I watched a gift DVD which my son gave me last Christmas. I keep reading Rachel’s gift book to me this year: The Discipline of Grace by Jerry Bridges and thinking what a godsend it is to me at a time when I am struggling spiritually. Time is my most precious commodity.

2 Responses to “Winter Break”

  1. SprinklerBandit Says:

    Love the story with the neighbor. 🙂 We do what we can.

  2. Mindi Says:

    I am making some ginger cookies today, and I will bring you some. I meant to do that at Christmas too, but I trust it is okay that they are late.

Leave a Reply

