Day Off Number Two

This is how yesterday ended:  I had a horrible head ache, no doubt from trying to give up a massive caffeine addiction while in a four hour indoor teaching session on virtue ethics for work on a beautiful spring day.  I went grocery shopping, came home and kind of wasn’t good for anything.  I ate lunch, took some ibuprofen and went to sleep.  When I got up, I was still absolutely worthless, even though my head did not hurt so much, because I had been working really hard and had not had enough sleep for a while.  Dear Abby made me some fish sticks and instant garlic mashed potatoes.  While it hardly sounds like something a gourmet or even a reasonably healthy person would appreciate, it was fantastic for me.  I told her that I would never forget it.  You will be glad to know that I did not trade my birthright or anything.  Unfortunately, it failed to actually revive me to a state of usefulness, so I listened to a sermon online from the International House of Prayer and played solitaire on the computer before falling asleep at 9 p.m.

Today, I felt like a new person.  I woke up early, read, went running and started Gettin’ Stuff Done.  Homework and laundry are in a little better state.  I killed over 25 box elder bugs, not that it matters.  Just build it, and they will come.  One of them just broke loose from a spider web.  I was hoping my lack of housekeeping would help in a small way, but it seems to have exacerbated it.  I also shopped for my hubby’s birthday.  I love today.

Leave a Reply

