Random Snow Day

I was praying and wishing for a snow day because I was so tired from work and school. Today, I got one, but I accomplished nothing except walking to the store to buy Diet Pepsi (This was in case we were stranded for days.), making a pot of so-so chili, running and emptying and refilling the dishwasher, doing laundry, re-examining and investigating my insurance choices from work before the sign up period is over, talking to a fellow classmate on the phone for twenty minutes about how I have studied in the past, and talking to my prayer partner mentor about the thing I had been praying about which went not my way, and then my way and finally, NOT MY WAY, for forty minutes and then deciding that God is the Blessed Controller of All Things, as J.B. Phillips suggested in his New Testament.

It is 3:15 p.m. I have not actually studied even 60 seconds although I did collect my favorite graph paper notebook, my favorite pen, my textbook, a glass of Diet Pepsi, some lime flavored Doritos and the blue print issued for the test. All that has happened is that most of the DP and Doritos disappeared, or were they Tostitos? I can’t remember.

Of course, when I asked God for this snow day, I meant that I would spend at least five hours of it studying, but my physical body was so relieved that I did not have to go to clinicals that it pretty much wilted when it heard the news and has not yet recovered the energy to do much of anything.

I have the weekend off and there is plenty of time left to tell God more lies about how I plan to use my weekend off from work to study.

Signed,

The Queen of Nursing School Sinners

2 Responses to “Random Snow Day”

  1. SprinklerBandit Says:

    Sometimes you need to take some time off without guilt. It’s ok to be overwhelmed and need a break.

  2. thegreatfish Says:

    You are right, of course. I think that we get to choose slow down or fall down sometimes.

Leave a Reply

