The Value of Old Thoughts

Usually it is my habit to pray and read my Bible on a daily basis. Sometimes I tape in a photo of my immediate family or extended family or Megan, who sent me a portrait a while back, in the front flap of the Bible. I also save really encouraging quotes that I have picked up from books or other locations. I even have a postcard of the wailing wall that my BIL Todd sent me one time.

I have this funny habit of making lists of people to pray for which I tape into the back page of my current Bible. (I like to switch which version I read from year to year.)I keep really beautiful cut outs from magazine spreads next to the actual list so that before I begin to pray, I am kind of blown away by some beautiful waterfall or maybe just two empty chairs on a patio to remind me that I am not praying to myself.

Today was a funny day because I was upset about a few things which I am not going to bore you with, but for some odd reason, I opened up one of bibles from another year and started looking at the quotes and photos. I ended up being encouraged and picked up a different perspective on the current cloud of non-happiness, and I was able to turn my head around.

When a situation is just not working, no matter how much we work the darn thing, maybe it is time to return to whatever worked before that pulled us up above so we could see the whole thing from a different perspective. Old, antique thoughts from another year, a different emotional valley, can be just the five smooth stones we need for the current giant.

2 Responses to “The Value of Old Thoughts”

  1. Megan Says:

    I’m feeling pretty special that I got a mention 🙂

    Thank you for brightening my day, too. Your writing is quite lovely, by the way.

    Particularly this: “When a situation is just not working, no matter how much we work the darn thing, maybe it is time to return to whatever worked before that pulled us up above so we could see the whole thing from a different perspective. Old, antique thoughts from another year, a different emotional valley, can be just the five smooth stones we need for the current giant.”

  2. thegreatfish Says:

    Thank you, Megan. Your photo is in there for many reasons.

Leave a Reply

