The Stack

Abraham Lincoln was the Great Emancipator. I am the Great Procrastinator. I feel solely responsible for elevating procrastination way beyond an art form to an actual coping skill. Please allow me to justify my procrastination.

This summer was the Summer from Hell Part 2. (2016)

First, let me tell you about the Summer from Hell Part 1. (2015)

Last summer kind of did not happen because I had a very demanding job at a place which did not share my core values. My take away from it was that I learned a great deal about what mattered to me. My core values are teamwork, compassion and integrity. If a job opportunity does not embrace those as their core values, we are not suited for each other. If you do not share core values with your employer, it is going to be stressful no matter how great your administrator is or how large your paycheck might be. You do not need to have my core values to be happy. I am sure that you have your own. Besides, working so much at a very, very physical and mentally draining job five days a week means that on day six, I would go to church on Sunday morning, come home, and pretty much never leave the sofa for the rest of the day. Zombie dead. Unable to function. On Mondays, I felt like a real person, and then my job started again on Tuesday. I am thankful for that job. I am also thankful that I am not doing that job anymore.

Summer from Hell Part 2 was because I had entirely too many demands made on my time which was pretty much my own fault. I was studying for the NCLEX, I was taking a statistics class in the summer (twice as fast as a normal horrible statistics class) and on line (because I had to have it completed in order to start school this past Monday to work on my BSN) and I was also starting a new full time dream job at my dream facility. I love my job. I love my coworkers. I love my bosses. I love my employer. I hate Statistics. Statistics can turn a reasonable happy normal person into a person who wallows in their own self pity from sun up to sun down. Yes, it was that kind of summer.

Here are the happy times: in May, I went to a cool retreat with the women of the Imago Dei Fellowship of Portland and then went to the coast for three days with my youngest daughter. I love Portland and Oregon except for eastern Oregon. In August, I got to go to the Western Idaho State Fair with my oldest daughter. The Fair this year was incredibly outrageously over the top fun and enjoyable. It made up for not getting to go to Minnesota this year like I wanted to. Plus, I won things. We signed up to win even more things!!! (Aimee, I know we will win something!) Another summer plus was that a few Saturday mornings my grandson stopped in to see us.

Other than the above things, it was a horrible summer. I really, really wanted to go to my sister in law’s house for July 4th and I was stuck at home all night doing Statistics homework. I feel Borderline PTSD about it. It is over the top when only growling brings full expression of those emotions.

One thing that I procrastinated on because I was tired of coming home from 12 hours shifts and trying to focus on Stats assignments that were due at midnight and knowing I had to get up at 5 a.m. to get to work, was that I quit opening the mail.  It was the only thing that I could control.

I opened personal letters and sales flyers went in the trash. All business looking mail except for bank statements were put into The Stack. (rhymes with The Shack)

Tonight I realized that I did not want to take classes for the next two years and get a BSN. I just did not want to do anything. After examining my feelings on my utter unwillingness to take classes for which I had already paid tuition and purchased books, I realized that I did not have the energy to start this new chapter in my life unless I opened and dealt with The Stack. Coincidentally, tonight when I went to purchase two items at one of my favorite thrift stores, I was told that my bank card number was not working. Three times. Luckily, I had the cash, which I almost never have. I was murmuring to myself that I would have to waste valuable time tomorrow contacting the bank. FRUSTRATION!

Imagine my surprise tonight when I found that in The Stack was a notice from my bank telling me that my card would not be good anymore after 8/22/16, and they sent me a new and better card. It had only been sitting there a month or so. There were a number of other really useful things in The Stack which only matter to the members of my household. Essential Things.

What is my point? My point is that once I cleared out The Stack, I kind of felt like being a college student/new nurse again. I had mental energy, not tons, but enough to move forward for today. Plus, I have access to my bank account again.That is definitely a plus for a person driving a borrowed truck with a quarter tank of gas.

That is my summer story. And now, on to Genetics and Genomics in Nursing and Health Care.

Leave a Reply

