Coming Back Around

I have started enjoying running again. For the last couple of months, I have been trying to break back into running, or more accurately, jogging slowly and sweating profusely, and trying to go long distances. I am still quite overweight and out of shape, but I am enjoying working out more.

I have moved my rebounder upstairs to help me bounce when I cannot make time to run in daylight hours. It is not as good of a work out as actually getting out there and doing the JSASP (jogging slowing and sweating profusely), but it is better than sitting on my butt in front of a computer. It has been difficult to fit in three run attempts a week. It feels like my calendar consists of when I work(nights), when I run, and when I can actually be awake and show up at anything else. I am hating school right now, but I also do homework. Blech!

In October, yours truly will be in the Steak Race which is an evening race that ends with a steak dinner. This silly goal has kept me on the road for weeks. It will not be a race for me; it will be more of an I-Showed-Up-And-Also-Participated-Event. Good enough.

My end goal is to cease being obese, to be more active, and to go long distances because it makes me happy to go long distances even though I am old and slow. Since running a marathon several years ago, I kind of fell off the planet.

Someone told me that when you make up your mind to do something, the universe kind of sends you what you need to get there. I don’t think that is true. It is more of a stupid thing that new agers say, but there is some truth in it. I like what Aimee said better. She said that people who run marathons don’t necessarily have a lot of ability, but they have grit. Funny how that one statement has helped to keep me focused on this goal of long distance running because I don’t really have any great ability, but I can come up with grit, God willing. Now that I think about it, I found a fantastic pair of $100 running shoes, barely used, at my favorite thrift store this month. It could be the new agers are onto something as well, or maybe where God guides, He provides.

Star Wars is on TNT tonight. Woot.

Leave a Reply

