What We Miss

sovereign

I have not slept well for the last couple of days. After one particularly sleepless night, my employer called and wanted me to come in to work extra to fill a shift hole. I had a head cold and had slept only an hour or two the previous night, but eventually I told her, “Yes.” Instead of a twelve hour shift, it was just an eight hour shift.

I got what sleep I could with what was left of the day and went to work at 10:30 at night. The shift went well, and I came home and took some Nyquil and went to sleep. Eventually I moved to the la z boy and slept there with a cup of hot tea and a quilt. My helpful husband brought home chicken for supper.

I am looking at working two twelves and then a day off and two more twelves.

It looks overwhelming.

Several things look overwhelming to me at this point.

Suddenly it dawned on me that I have really quit being thankful.

After reading the book, One Thousand Gifts by Ann Voskamp, I resolved to make being thankful part of my every day experience. I have been slipping up lately, and life has become kind of a drag, to use a good sixties word.

I have so very much to be thankful for and I need to be thanking Someone, even when life seems overwhelming, or maybe when life seems overwhelming, not so He works a magical change in my circumstances, but so I do not forget who is Sovereign over all of life at all times. If I miss that, I have missed everything.

Tags:

Leave a Reply

