Thinking About Food

used shoes

I have a friend who has a degree in Food Science. While talking to her last night about the food movies in my Netflix queue, I decided to delete Food Inc. She said if it was going to upset me too much, then maybe I should not watch it. She said she has seen only portions of it.  I said that I thought it would make me too upset about things that I cannot do anything about.

When talking about food purity, she said that she would much rather see a person who eats junk food, but is physically active than a person who eats only ‘pure’ food, but leads a sedentary life. I love her perspective. She is kind of a food executive and oversees the diet of thousands of people.

That leads me to my other thought: I have started running again. I found this amazing guide on Popsugar that will ease me back into BEING A RUNNER in eight weeks. I am happier than I have been in weeks. It is doable and leads me where I want to go.

I am not exactly brave about making this change. I walk out of my neighborhood and run where my neighbors cannot see me.

Two books that are helping me navigate the mental part of getting healthy again are No Need for Speed – A Beginner’s Guide to the Joy of Running by John Bingham and Why We Eat More Than We Think – Mindless Eating by Brian Wansink. I highly recommend them.

Tags:

Leave a Reply

