Starting Over

starting over

I had this great idea for being consistent, keeping track of calories, and regular weigh-ins etc. It worked until I had to work five 12 hour night shifts in six nights.

Yep, that kind of shot it all to heck. I am going to have to start over again.

After that, I was exhausted.

It is tougher to lose weight when you work the night shift, but it is not impossible.

I am starting over tomorrow. Sadly, I wanted to do walking and running. The skies in Boise are filled with smoke from forest fires, mostly fires from British Columbia and Washington, but now, also fires from Idaho. I have a gym membership. I am loathe to use it. Gyms are for wintertime and evidently, smoke season, I guess. I prefer to be outside.

The good news was that I was losing weight right away, just by eating like a normal person would. I have done a lot of emotional eating to put on the eighty pounds which I need to lose.

I think that the main problem for me with weight loss and exercise is that life gets in the way. If I do not keep getting up when I fail, I will never get to where I want to be. I am guessing that I am going to fall a lot, and success hinges not on being perfect, but on continuing to get back up and start over.

I am working on that emotional element as well, and seeing a counselor recommended by my pastor. She has been amazing.

And I am grateful.

 

2 Responses to “Starting Over”

  1. Apple Hill Cottage Says:

    Oh, those night shifts would throw everyone off. Truth be told? Even the candy bars at work throw me off! Best wishes. Go for it!

  2. thegreatfish Says:

    Thank you! I think the trick is keep writing everything down. It is personal accountability that works for me. If I stop and think about it, I don’t make bad decisions so much. The benefit of actually using my brain.:)

Leave a Reply

